No. 18 MIT Competes at NEISA Team Race Championship and Morris Trophy

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – This past weekend, the nationally-ranked No. 18 coed sailing team hosted the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) Team Race Championship where it finished eighth out of 12 squads. The Engineers were also represented at the George Morris Trophy and captured 14th place.

MIT kicked off the NEISA Championship by posting a 3-2 ledger in its group on Saturday, as it defeated Tufts, Connecticut College, and Bowdoin but fell to Yale and Brown. In the first Gold round robin, the Engineers topped Tufts; however, they were unable to win the remainder of their races. The Cardinal and Gray battled the same seven opponents in the next rotation but it could not pick up another victory. MIT's pairs for the weekend were senior Eamon Glackin (Huntington, N.Y.) and junior Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas), junior Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.) and senior Steph Tong (Hong Kong), and freshman Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.) and junior Steven Drapcho (Newton, Pa.).

At the George Morris Trophy, senior Tevis Nichols (Skylonder, Calif.) and junior Taylor Burfield (Naples, Fla.) placed 13th in the A Division. In 12 rounds, the duo entered the top 10 on six occasions including one fifth-place and two sixth-place performances. Freshmen Laura Dunphy (Shelburne, Vt.), Zack Drach (Wilmington, N.C.), and Priyanka Chatterjee (Columbus, Md.) along with sophomore Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.) collaborated for a ranking of 15th in the B Division. The quartet won the ninth race, finished ninth in the fifth and seventh rotations, and was 10th in the sixth round.