No. 15 Coed Sailing Participates at Truxton Umsted Trophy and Central Series One

No. 15 Coed Sailing Participates at Truxton Umsted Trophy and Central Series One

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – This past weekend, the nationally-ranked No. 15 MIT coed sailing team captured 11th place out of 20 teams at the two-day Truxton Umsted Trophy while its two entries at Saturday's Central Series One finished sixth and seventh.

Seniors Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.) and Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas) ranked ninth in the A Division of the Truxton Umsted Trophy on the strength of top-10 finishes in six of the last 12 rounds. They were the runner-ups in the ninth and 11th races, claimed fifth in the 10th rotation, and captured sixth place in the seventh, eighth, and 12th rounds. In the B Division, freshman Christopher Ford (Millbrae, Calif.) and senior Steven Drapcho (Newtown, Pa.) opened the competition with finishes of ninth and 10th place while a fifth-place performance in the 11th rotation helped them rank 17th overall.

Senior David Alfonso (San Juan, Puerto Rico) used eight top-10 placements to finish sixth in the C Division. He won the seventh rotation, ranked third on four occasions, claimed fifth place in the eighth outing, and was ninth in the fourth and 10th rounds. Senior Philip Crain (Houston, Texas) rounded out the Engineers with a fourth-place finish in the D Division. He sat atop the standings following the second and fourth races, was the runner-up in the eighth and ninth rounds, clinched third place in the fifth rotation, and added placements of eighth, ninth, and 10th to his ledger.

At the Central Series One, the "Engineers" captured sixth place out of 14 squads. The A Division unit of freshman David Larson (San Diego, Calif.) and sophomore Samantha Albright (Madison, Conn.) ranked third after finishing among the top five in four of seven rounds, including a victory in the opening race. Sophomore Zack Drach (Wilmington, N.C.) and freshman Kayla Ngan (Sudbury, Mass.) were eighth in the B Division as they registered six top-10 performances which featured a trio of sixth-place rankings and a pair of seventh-place finishes.

The "Angry Beavers", comprised of sophomore Laura Dunphy (Shelburne, Vt.), freshmen Audrey Olshefsky (White, Wash.) and Rosalind Lesh (Everson, Wash.), and Brooke Winslow, secured seventh place. Dunphy and Olshefsky collaborated for seven top-10 placements en route to a fifth-place ranking in the A Division. Highlights for the duo were a victory in the fifth round, third place in the second rotation, and fourth place in the sixth race. Lesh and Winslow also finished among the top 10 in every race as their rankings of first and fifth in the early rotations propelled them to sixth overall.

On March 23-24, MIT will travel to the Women's Duplin Trophy Team Race at Tufts University while also hosting the Boston Dinghy Cup. The Engineers will also compete at the Central Series Two which will be co-hosted by Boston University and Northeastern University on Saturday, March 23.