MIT Sailing Finishes Second at Boston Dinghy Club Challenge Cup

Senior Philip Crain
Senior Philip Crain

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In a full weekend of action, the nationally-ranked No. 14 coed sailing team captured second place at the Boston Dinghy Challenge Cup and sixth place at Central Series Two. The women's squad, meanwhile, was seventh at the Joseph Duplin Trophy Team Race.

Among a field of 17 teams at the Boston Dinghy Club Challenge Cup, the A Division unit of seniors Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.), Mark Van de Loo (Eau Claire, Wis.), and Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas) recorded 12 top-five performances in 17 rounds to finish second. The trio won races three through six along with the final outing, was second in the 11th, 13th, and 16th rotations, and captured third place in the ninth round. Senior Philip Crain (Houston, Texas), freshman Jeremy Kalas (Huntington, N.Y.), and senior Steven Drapcho (Newtown, Pa.) claimed fourth place in the B Division on the strength of seven top-five placements. Highlights included a victory in the eighth round, runner-up spots in the 10th and 13th rotations, and third place in the opening race. Seniors David Alfonso (San Juan, Puerto Rico) and Eben Freeman (Zurich, Switzerland) collaborated for a fourth-place ranking in the C Division courtesy of 11 top-five finishes. The duo won the third, seventh, 11th, and 15th races, was second in the second and fifth rounds, and claimed third in the 14th and 17th outings.

Saturday's Central Series Two featured 13 teams. Freshmen William Livernois (Newman, Ga.) and Kayla Ngan (Sudbury, Mass.) were third in the A Division as they captured third place in the first and third rounds while ranking fifth in the second rotation. Freshman Cali Warner (Dartmouth, Mass.) and sophomore Sara Falcone (Anchorage, Alaska) finished fifth and ninth in the first two rounds but were unable to complete the final race which put them in ninth place in the B Division.

At the Joseph Duplin Trophy Team Race, sophomores Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.), Laura Dunphy (Shelburne, Vt.), and junior Hanna Vincent (Santa Barbara, Calif.) competed as skippers while junior Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.), Brooke Winslow, freshmen Audrey Olshefsky (White, Wash.) and Rosalind Lesh (Everson, Wash.), along with senior Taylor Burfield (Naples, Fla.) served as the crews. Squaring off with Boston College, Bowdoin College, Brown, Harvard, Roger Williams University, Stanford, and Tufts University in the first round, MIT emerged with a ledger of 2-6. In the consolation round, the Engineers registered their second victories of the weekend over Harvard and Bowdoin en route to a mark of 2-2.

Next weekend, MIT will travel to Brown University for the Women's Brad Dellenbaugh Trophy and Connecticut College for the Southern New England Team Race Intersectional.