No. 5 Women’s Sailing Captures Fourth Place at Charleston Regatta

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The nationally-ranked No. 5 MIT women's sailing team continued its solid start to the spring season by finishing fourth at the Charleston Women's Regatta this past weekend. Also in action for the Engineers was the No. 14 team racing unit which was the runner-up at the Staake Trophy Team Race.

In a 12-team field that featured eight nationally-ranked squads, MIT finished behind No. 1 Yale, No. 7 College of Charleston, and No. 8 Georgetown. Senior Hanna Vincent (Santa Barbara, Calif.) and sophomore Lisa Sukharev-Chuyan (Temple, N.H.) collaborated for a third-place finish in the B Division after generating seven top-five placements through 11 rounds. The duo won the second and seventh races, was the runner-up in the fifth round, and registered a pair of fourth and fifth-place rankings. In the A Division, juniors Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.) and Samantha Albright (Madison, Conn.) also had seven top-five finishes that helped them claim fifth place in the standings. The boat was second in the fifth and sixth rotations, third in the final outing of the competition, claimed fourth place on three occasions, and was fifth in the seventh race.

At the six-team Staake Trophy, MIT's contingent was comprised of seniors David Alfonso (San Juan, Puerto Rico) and Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.), sophomores David Larson (La Jolla, Calif.), Joe Paggi (Bayville, N.J.), and Christopher Ford (Millbrae, Calif.), along with freshmen Alec Stewart (Duxbury, Mass.) and Jordan Ladd (St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands). The Engineers recorded a 3-2 ledger in the first two rounds as they defeated Boston University, Northeastern, and Salve Regina University in both outings. In the next rotation, MIT had another 3-2 performance that included victories over Salve Regina, University of Rhode Island, and Northeastern. In the fourth round, the Cardinal and Gray went 4-1 as its lone loss was to host Bowdoin College. The record put the Engineers in the final four where they dismissed URI, Bowdoin, and BU to lock up second place.

This weekend, MIT will host the Lynne Marchiando Trophy Team Race in addition to competing at the BU Trophy and the Women's Brad Dellenbaugh Trophy.