Men's Lightweight Crew

Lightweights Rev Up For IRA National Rowing Championships

May 29, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The MIT men's lightweight crew team will be sending three small boats to the 104th Annual IRA National Rowing Championships starting this Wednesday, May 30, and running through Saturday, June 2. The Engineers look to cap their season with a strong performance against the nation's elite crews.  

In the varsity category, the Cardinal and Gray are entering the "coxless four" comprised of three juniors, Andrzej Wojcieszynski, Bill Garthwaite and Jeff Iqbal, as well as sophomore Russell Ryan. Tech's lights will also be representing MIT in the coxless pair comprised of Alexander Hayman and Ryan Daspit. In the freshman category, the Engineers will send four freshmen to the "coxed freshman four" event. The boat will be driven by Olga Botvinnik and powered from stroke to bow by Aaron Blankstein, Raphael Peterson, Andres Camarena, and Ryan Flynn.