National Football Foundation Announces Hampshire Honor Society Membership

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT saw an Institute-record seven athletes earn a spot in the National Football Foundation's (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society. The mark was the highest in the New England Football Conference (NEFC) and was tied for eighth among the 74 Division III programs that submitted a nomination.

Representing the Engineers on the list was Corey Garvey, Will Gibson, Tony McDonald, Jordan Meenen, Brian Mickle, Zach Rose, and Alex Rubino. To qualify, an athlete must have been a starter or significant substitute during his last year of athletic eligibility and achieved a 3.2 GPA throughout his entire course of study.

Although MIT's inductees received their first accolades from the NFF, they had previously garnered academic plaudits at the regional and national levels from a variety of organizations. All seven were named to the NEFC All-Academic Team while Gibson, Mickle, and Rose earned spots on the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District Team. Rubino was selected to the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America First Team, named the Hal Chalmers Scholar-Athlete of the Year which is presented by the NEFC, and was tabbed by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston for the Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award.