NEFC Announces All-Academic Team

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – For the second year in a row MIT placed a league-high 31 athletes on the New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Academic Team. To qualify for the team, a player must have completed three semesters at the same institution and maintain a 3.7 or higher cumulative grade point average on a 5.0 scale. A total of 254 student-athletes from all 16 member institutions collected accolades.

The NEFC is comprised of Bridgewater State College, Curry College, Endicott College, Fitchburg State College, Framingham State College, MIT, Maine Maritime Academy, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Nichols College, Plymouth State University, Salve Regina University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, UMass-Dartmouth, Western New England College, Westfield State College, and Worcester State College.

Salve Regina secured the second-highest number of honorees with 25 selections, followed by Endicott with 24. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEFC All-Academic Team:

Kevin Boehm
Cameron Brown
DeRon Brown
Brian Doyle
Ian Fischer
Brad Gaffney
Steven Gan
Corey Garvey
Will Gibson
Peter Gilliland
Garth Grove
Davey Hunt
Kyle Johnson
Patrick Jupe
Sean Kelly
Justin Kresz
Derek Li
Tony McDonald
Jordan Meenen
Brian Mickle
Marcus Parton
Zach Rose
Alex Rubino
Marcel Sanchez
Jonathan Smith
Josh Steimel
Teddy Tzanetos
Will Vega-Brown
Jacob Wamala
Kristopher Weaver
Michael Yurkerwich