MIT Receives Four Postseason Honors from the NEFC

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT football team saw four different players earn awards from the New England Football Conference (NEFC) on Thursday. Brian Doyle was voted for the Hal Chalmers Award which goes to the senior scholar-athlete of the year, marking the Engineers' third consecutive recipient and sixth overall. First-time honorees Mike Fitzgerald earned a spot on the Boyd Division First Team while Patrick Jupe and Ethan Peterson were Second-Team picks.

Doyle was the team's top punt and kick returner and was a member of a defense that ranks seventh nationally in pass defense and stands sixth in the NEFC in opponent first downs. An ESPN Academic All-America Second-Team selection last year, he is currently on the national ballot vying for another accolade.

Fitzgerald ranks second in the NEFC in receptions per game (6.6) and third in receiving yards per game (77.8). He finished his career with 111 receptions for 1,577 yards to rank fifth and third, respectively, in MIT's record book.

Jupe's 99 tackles put him second in the NEFC and first among linemen; in addition he posted the fifth-highest tally in the program's history. A starting member of the offensive line at left guard, Peterson helped the Engineers rank third in the Boyd Division in sacks against, third in pass offense, and sixth in rush offense.