National Football Foundation Announces Hampshire Honor Society Membership

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT had six athletes earn a spot in the National Football Foundation's (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society. For the second year in a row, the Engineers paced the New England Football Conference (NEFC) among the programs that submitted a nomination.

Representing the Engineers on the list was Brian Doyle, Kyle Johnson, Derek Li, Jonathan Smith, Will Vega-Brown, and Michael Yurkerwich. To qualify, an athlete must have been a starter or significant substitute during his last year of athletic eligibility and achieved a 3.2 grade point average on a 4.0 scale throughout his entire course of study.

Although MIT's inductees received their first accolades from the NFF, they had previously garnered academic plaudits at the regional and national levels from a variety of organizations. All six were named to the NEFC All-Academic Team while Doyle was also selected as the league's Hal Chalmers Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, both Doyle and Vega-Brown earned CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-America First Team honors.