New England Football Conference to Restructure

FITCHBURG, Mass. – New England Football Conference Commissioner Sue Lauder has announced a restructuring of the Conference that will take place prior to the 2013 season. The NEFC, founded in 1965 by Bridgewater State College, Curry College, and Maine Maritime Academy, will function as an eight team league and will retain the NEFC's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.  The realigned NEFC will consist of Curry College, Endicott College, Maine Maritime Academy, MIT, Nichols College, Salve Regina University, the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, and Western New England University.

Institutions that are currently members of the multi-sport Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Westfield State University, and Worcester State University) will compete in a newly formed MASCAC football league.  Plymouth State University and UMass Dartmouth, two schools that have a playing relationship with the MASCAC through an affiliation agreement between the MASCAC and the Little East Conference, will also join the new league.

 "It's been an honor to have been a member of the NEFC and to work with the quality student athletes, coaches and administrators at all of the NEFC institutions," said Lauder who is also the Director of Athletics at Fitchburg.  "I wish the conference continued success and look forward to maintaining relationships with NEFC members."

The NEFC, with 16 members divided into two divisions, is the largest Division III football conference in the nation.  The Conference's championship game between the winners of the two divisions is also unique among Division III football.