Walter Alessi Named Pilgrim League Coach of the Year

May 6, 2009


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The MIT men's lacrosse team capped off its remarkable season with a slew of awards from the Pilgrim Lacrosse League. For the eighth time in his career, Walter Alessi was tabbed for Coach of the Year accolades after guiding the Engineers to their first playoff appearance since 2001.

Ryan Ballentine, Corey Garvey, and Eric Zuk represented the Cardinal and Gray on the All-Conference Second Team, marking the program's most selections in nine years. In addition, MIT set the standard for Pilgrim All-Academic honors tallying 13. Ballentine, Dylan Roden, Patrick Shannon, and Ebbe Strathairn picked up their third career awards while Will Gibson, Tom Hay, and Jason Rathje were repeat honorees. John Kucharczyk, Justin Myers, Dan Piemont, Nick Sisler, Tomas Vianna, and Neil Zimmerman earned their first plaudits.