Records Fall as Engineers Remain atop the Standings in the NEWMAC Championship

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – On the strength of seven first-place finishes, MIT increased its lead during Saturday's finals session in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championship. The host Engineers raised their total to 769 points while the U.S. Coast Guard Academy maintained its position in second place with a tally of 517. Springfield College continued to rank third with 346 points. The three-day competition concludes on Sunday at 11:00 a.m.

In the 200 medley relay, MIT's squad of Ryan TerBush, Michael Liao, Wyatt Ubellacker, and Craig Cheney earned an NCAA "B" standard with a time of 1:31.85. The "B" relay contingent comprised of Scott Stephens, David Parrell, Toomas Sepp, and Tony Chen won the consolation final in 1:34.68.

Brendan Deveney's time of 4:02.59 in the 400 individual medley broke the meet record set by Tim Stumbaugh last season, who finished as a runner-up this year with a time of 4:05.61. Both marks met the NCAA provisional qualifying standard. Jeffrey Lin (4:07.96) and Remy Mock (4:09.50) followed in third and fourth place, respectively, while Eric Roselli rounded out the Engineers with an eighth-place finish (4:22.29).

Ubellacker established a new meet record in the 100 butterfly with a time of 49.15, besting the record set by WPI's Joel Rousseau in 2006 by .14 seconds. Toomas Sepp touched the wall in 49.86, resulting in another pair of NCAA "B" cuts for the Engineers. MIT picked up additional points in the championship final courtesy of Kevin Lang (51.17, fourth place) and Brett Boval (51.28, fifth place).

Colby Dunn received the first NCAA automatic qualification of the meet by finishing in 1:39.69 in the 200 freestyle. Tony Chen captured second place with a time of 1:42.45. Carlo Biedenharn placed third (1:42.66) as Andrew Pierson (1:42.86) completed the Engineers' second top-four sweep. In the consolation final, Michael Dobson finished ninth (1:43.63) while Stephens (1:44.92, 13th) and Max Pruner (1:45.16, 14th) came in right behind each other.

In the 100 breaststroke, MIT placed four swimmers in the top eight. Liao led the way with a first-place finish and an NCAA "B" cut time of 56.53 while David Parrell followed in second place with a 58.09. Michael Veldman clinched fourth (59.39) as Sepp was sixth (59.70).

The Engineers saw five athletes pick up points in the 200 backstroke. TerBush led the way with an NCAA "B" cut time of 51.80 for a third-place finish as Stumbaugh (52.36) and Brendan Liu (52.46) ranked fifth and sixth, respectively. Ron Rosenberg recorded the top time in the consolation final with a 52.66 while Boval finished 12th in 54.52.

MIT closed the evening by breaking the meet record it set two years ago in the 800 free relay. The quartet of Deveney, Carlo Biedenharn, Andrew Pierson, and Dunn clocked in at 6:50.34 which also met the NCAA provisional qualifying standard. The "B" relay featuring Dobson, Timothy Wall, Parrell, and Pruner secured eighth-place with a time of 6:58.34.

Team Standings (Through Day 2)

1. MIT 769
2. U.S. Coast Guard Academy 517
3. Springfield College 346
4. Wheaton College 256
5. WPI 254
6. Clark University 189
7. Babson College 172

2011 NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Teams
(Event Winners Earn All-Conference First-Team Honors)

Event First Team Second Team
200 Medley Relay MIT - 1:31.85 B
(Ryan TerBush, Michael Liao, Wyatt Ubellacker, Craig Cheney)
Wheaton - 1:35.43
(Ben Sabol, Sam Dean-Lee, Zach Fichman-Klein, Emerson Jenkins)
400 Individual Medley Brendan Deveney (MIT) - 4:02.59 B ! Tim Stumbaugh (MIT) - 4:05.61 B
100 Butterfly Wyatt Ubellacker (MIT) - 49.15 B ! Toomas Sepp (MIT) - 49.86 B
200 Freestyle Colby Dunn (MIT) - 1:39.69 A Tony Chen (MIT) - 1:42.45
100 Breaststroke Michael Liao (MIT) - 56.53 B David Parrell (MIT) - 58.09
100 Backstroke Ryan Garr (Clark) - 50.99 Josh Ernst (Springfield) - 51.69
800 Freestyle Relay MIT - 6:50.34 B !
(Brendan Deveney, Carlo Biedenharn, Andrew Pierson, Colby Dunn)
Springfield - 6:56.85
(Nolan Manley, Scott Peters, Jason Scotto, Josh Ernst)
1-Meter Diving Brooks Farrar (Springfield) - 524.00 B Brian Sobel (Springfield) - 521.45 B

A - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying A standard (automatic)
B - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying B standard (provisional)
! – Denotes NEWMAC Meet Record