Tennis Tabbed for ITA Honors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT was the only NEWMAC institution to receive All-Academic Team accolades for both its men’s and women’s programs as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The women’s squad collected its seventh award while the men received their second nod. Individually, the Engineers collected 20 honors which ties Pomona-Pitzer College for first in the country.

Yi Wang and Karina Pikhart became the first women’s tennis players to collect Scholar-Athlete honors all four years during their careers. Leslie Hansen and Emily Onufer received their third accolade while Sheena Bhalla and Sonya Makhni were repeat selections. Melissa Diskin, Jenny Dohlman, Hillary Jenny, and Anastasia Vishnevetsky were first-time honorees for the Engineers.

Ryan Castonia, Jonathan Farm, David Iba, Peden Nichols and Ken Van Tilburg picked up their second awards from the ITA. Earning their first awards for the Engineers were Biafra Ahanonu, Robert Habib, Samuel Harmatz, Max Nelson, and Manuel Rivera.