Tennis Racks Up ITA Honors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – For the second year in a row, MIT was the only NEWMAC institution to receive All-Academic Team accolades for both its men's and women's programs as announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The women's squad collected its eighth award while the men received their third nod. Individually, the Engineers paced Division III with 20 honors and equaled their mark from last year.

Leslie Hansen became the third women's tennis player to collect Scholar-Athlete plaudits all four years. Former teammates Yi Wang '09 and Karina Pikhart '09 were the first to accomplish this feat last season. Sheena Bhalla and Sonya Makhni received their third accolade while Hillary Jenny, Anisa McCree, Anastasia Vishnevetsky, and Kerry Weinberg were repeat selections. Bianaca Dumitrascu and Caitlin Pomeroy were first-time honorees for the Engineers.

Ken Van Tilburg was the first three-time honoree for the men's program while Samuel Harmatz, Max Nelson, and Manuel Rivera picked up their second award from the ITA. Arthur Astorino, Andrew Cooper, Brian Oldfield, Neel Patel, Stephen Powelson, and Michael Walsh made the list for the first time.