Klauber, Silva Among Six Engineers Honored by NEWMAC

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Two days after capturing the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title in dramatic fashion, the MIT field hockey team received additional accolades at the league's postseason meeting on Tuesday. Kameron Klauber (Carlsbad, Calif.) was named the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year, following an outstanding senior campaign in which she led the team with 59 points and 21 assists. Cheryl Silva was selected as the league's Coach of the Year for the second time in three years and third time in her career.

In addition to her Athlete of the Year award, Klauber was a first team all-conference selection for the second straight year. Teammate Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.) joined Klauber on the first team. McShane has now earned NEWMAC all-conference accolades during each of her three seasons in Cambridge.
The Cardinal and Gray had three players named to the second team all-league, including tournament most outstanding player, Anna Teruya (Hockessin, Del.). Teruya scored the game-winning goal in overtime on Sunday, to propel Tech to its second conference title since 2009. Kimberly Barker (Camden, N.Y.) and leading-scorer, Molly Duffy (New Providence, N.J.) were also second team honorees.

MIT's historic season will continue on Wednesday, November 9 when it hosts Husson University in a first round NCAA tournament game. The game will begin at 4:00 p.m. on Jack Barry field. Ticket prices are $5 for adults and $3 for students and senior citizens. MIT students with an MIT ID will be admitted free. The game will also be webcast free of charge and is available at http://www.b2livetv.com/partner_members.asp?id=246.