MIT Receives NFHCA Academic Accolades

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT field hockey team recorded the highest grade point average in Division III, had 11 student-athletes earn a spot on the National Academic Squad, with five being named Scholars of Distinction as announced by National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) this week.

The Engineers compiled a 3.56 GPA on a 4.0 scale, besting Ramapo College, Wesleyan University, Richard Stockton College, and Simmons College, to earn their 11th straight National Academic Team Award. Among all field hockey programs, MIT finished second in the nation to the Division I squad from Central Michigan University. This award is given to those institutions that achieve a minimum 3.0 team GPA during the 2012 fall semester.

This year, the NFHCA established the Scholar of Distinction program, which recognizes student-athletes with a 3.9 GPA or higher. Senior Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.), junior Maddy Wharton (Swarthmore, Pa.), and sophomores Elizabeth Dethy (Morristown, N.J.), Sarah Fay (South Hadley, Mass.), and Caitlin Mackey (San Diego, Calif.) represented MIT on this list. The Engineers had the second-highest total across all three divisions as they were the runner-up to NEWMAC foe WPI which produced six selections.

To be eligible for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative 3.30 GPA through the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year. McShane and fellow senior Michelle Dion (Lunenburg, Mass.) earned their third straight selection while Wharton and junior Michelle Teplensky (Somers, N.Y.) received their second award. Dethy, Fay, and Mackey along with senior Kimberly Barker (Camden, N.Y.) and sophomores Diane Kim (Acton, Mass.), Jenna Klein (Parma, Ohio), and K.K. Wopat (Edwardsville, Ill.) were first-time honorees.