MIT Collects NFHCA Academic Accolades

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT field hockey team saw a program-record 13 student-athletes claim a spot on the National Academic squad, with four being named Scholars of Distinction, as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association this week. In addition, the Engineers collected their 12th straight National Academic Team Award by achieving a minimum 3.0 team GPA on a 4.0 scale during the 2013 fall semester.

To be eligible for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative 3.30 GPA through the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year. Seniors Michelle Teplensky (Somers, N.Y.) and Maddy Wharton (Swarthmore, Pa.) earned their third straight selection while juniors Elizabeth Dethy (Morristown, N.J.), Sarah Fay (South Hadley, Mass.), Diane Kim (Acton, Mass.), Caitlin Mackey (San Diego, Calif.), and K.K. Wopat (Edwardsville, Ill.) received their second award. First-time honorees for MIT were senior Erin Kenney (Glen Ellyn, Ill.) along with sophomores Isabella DiDio (Jenkintown, Pa.), Morgan Gulliver (Stamford, Conn.), Paige Kennedy (Eastchester, N.Y.), Olivia Massey (Greenbackville, Va.), and Siobhan Rigby (Richmond, Va.).

In the second year of the Scholar of Distinction program, which recognizes student-athletes with a 3.9 GPA or higher, Fay, Mackey, and Wharton were repeat qualifiers. Massey, meanwhile, made her first appearance on the list.