Field Hockey Earns National Academic Team Award

March 2, 2005

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced the 2004 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award on Wednesday. MIT posted a team GPA of 3.45, ranking second out of 71 programs with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute recorded the highest GPA with a 3.53. Vassar College (3.45), St. Mary's College of Maryland (3.42), and Gwynedd-Mercy College (3.41) rounded out the top five.

Individually, the Engineers totaled seven representatives on the National Academic Squad. For the second year in a row, Noelle Kanaga, Deanna Lentz, Amanda Smith, and Cheryl Texin collected accolades. First-time recipients included Karen Hunter, Hee Jay Kang, Sharon Prange, Megan Roberts, Arielle Tambini, and Michelle Yam.