Field Hockey Receives NFHCA Academic Honors

March 7, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced its National Academic Award winners this week with MIT earning eight individual plaudits. The Engineers also qualified for the team award as it surpassed the GPA minimum of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Individually, Hee Jay Kang collected her third honor as Alexa Herman represented Tech as the only other repeat selection. Anna Ayuso, Alona Birjiniuk, Katie Boothe, Amanda Hunter, Cathy Mancuso, and Ashley Thomas were named to the National Academic Squad for the first time in their careers.