Field Hockey Receives NFHCA Academic Honors

March 24, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced its National Academic Award winners with MIT earning eight individual plaudits for the second straight season. The Engineers also qualified for the team award as it surpassed the GPA minimum of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Individually, Alexa Herman collected her third award as Alona Birjiniuk, Katie Boothe, Cathy Mancuso, and Lauren McCarthy were repeat honorees. Priscilla Army, Ekavali Mishra, and Sally Simpson were named to the National Academic Squad for the first time in their careers.