Women's Lacrosse Picks Up Three Postseason Honors From the NEWMAC

May 4, 2005

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Deanna Lentz, Kelsey Presson and Anna Ayuso were rewarded for their strong seasons with spots on the NEWMAC All-Conference teams. Lentz led the way with her third consecutive First Team selection.

Deanna Lentz secured her third straight First Team pick after ranking among the top five in every statistical category including the top league marks in ground balls and caused turnovers. Presson, who established an all-time scoring record at MIT during her senior campaign was named to the Second Team after earning First-Team honors in 2004, while Ayuso served as Tech's top defender en route to her first NEWMAC honor.

Springfield's Katie Hawke was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year after leading the Pride to their third league title in four years. Vanessa Pisano of Wheaton was voted NEWMAC Player of the Year, while Babson freshman Anita Martignetti copped Rookie of the Year honors.