MIT Softball Earns Inaugural NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award

May 2, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference announced its postseason awards for softball on Wednesday, with MIT earning the inaugural NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award. It's the first time that the conference has recognized a team for sportsmanship in its nine-year history.

Wellesley College earned three of the four major awards, as junior pitcher Jenna Harvey was named both the NEWMAC Player and Pitcher of the Year, while head coach Keri O'Meara received Coach of the Year honors. Springfield College first-year catcher Michelle Wlosek was selected as the conference's Rookie of the Year.