Karina Pikhart Receives Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award

May 27, 2009


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) named MIT senior Karina Pikhart the national recipient of the 2009 ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award. She is the first athlete in the program's history to garner this national honor as Mealani Nakamura '00 was the East Region finalist in 2000.

The award which dates back to 1984, goes to NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, and Junior College men's and women's players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. The national winners will be honored at the U.S. Open on Arthur Ashe Kids' Day inside Ashe Stadium.

Pikhart joins Thomas Dohlman '07 as the Institute's second national honoree.