NEWMAC Women's Tennis All-Conference Team Announced

Oct. 26, 2005

BABSON Park, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its women's tennis post-season awards on Tuesday. Wellesley College, the 2005 Conference Champions, led the way with 11 total selections, while MIT copped eight honors. The Engineers also finished in a four-way tie with Smith College, Mount Holyoke College, and Clark University for the Sportsmanship Award.

The No. 3 tandem of Jill Konowich and Jusleen Karve was Tech's only doubles First-Team selection. Konowich was also tabbed for First-Team honors at No. 5 singles as Joanna MacKay represented MIT on the First Team at No. 6 singles.

Elaine Ni earned a spot on the Second Team (No. 2 singles), followed by Mariah Hoover (No. 3), and Yi Wang (No. 4). Hoover and Serena Lin collected Second-Team plaudits at No. 1 doubles while MacKay and Ni were chosen for the same honor in the No. 2 spot.