NEWMAC Announces Women's Tennis Awards

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2009 Women's Tennis post-season awards on Tuesday. The two tournament finalists, Wheaton and Wellesley, combined to account for all nine of the First-Team nods, while MIT gathered three Second-Team awards.

Senior Leslie Hansen closed out her Fall career with a Second-Team nod at No.1 singles and No. 1 doubles, adding to her historical list of awards. The 2006 Rookie of the Year and two-time Athlete of the Year remains the only MIT women's tennis player to receive either award in NEWMAC history. Hansen was named to All-Conference teams all four years in singles and three times in doubles. With ten All-Conference awards, Hansen has surpassed Mariah Hoover to become the most decorated athlete in the history of Tech's women's tennis program.

In addition to her doubles nomination, Hansen's partner Anastasia Vishnevetsky received Second-Team honors at No. 2 singles. Vishnevetsky totaled four All-Conference awards in her career, including last year's First-Team selections at the same positions.
2009 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team and Award Winners
NEWMAC Athlete of the Year: Marie Watanabe, Wellesley
NEWMAC Rookie of the Year: Sam Carney, Springfield
NEWMAC Coach of the Year: Lynn Miller, Wheaton
NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award: Clark
First Team All-Conference
#1 Singles- Marie Watanabe, Wellesley
#2 Singles- Catherine Teague, Wheaton
#3 Singles- Jacqueline Shen, Wellesley
#4 Singles- Nathalie Herman, Wellesley
#5 Singles- Meghan Stubblebine, Wellesley
#6 Singles- Rosalyn Chesky, Wheaton
#1 Doubles- Sarah Geocaris & Catherine Teague, Wheaton
#2 Doubles- Marie Watanabe & Meghan Stubblebine, Wellesley
#3 Doubles- Ellen Van Faasen & Rosalyn Chesky, Wheaton
Second Team All-Conference
#1 Singles- Leslie Hansen, MIT
#2 Singles- Anastasia Vishnevetsky, MIT
#3 Singles- Sam Carney, Springfield
#4 Singles- Allesandra DiOrio, Wheaton
#5 Singles- Mikaela Stamas, Babson
#6 Singles- Gabriela Baez, Babson
#1 Doubles- Leslie Hansen & Anastasia Vishnevetsky, MIT
#2 Doubles- Natalie Hsiang & Sarah Moore, Mount Holyoke
#3 Doubles- Ashley Lake & Monica Mercer, Babson