MIT Track & Field Lands 25 on USTFCCCA All-Academic Team

MIT Track & Field Lands 25 on USTFCCCA All-Academic Team

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A combined 25 student-athletes from MIT's men's and women's indoor and outdoor track and field teams were named to the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Team for the 2013-14 year. The organization honored student-athletes for their efforts, both in the classroom and competition.

On the men's side, MIT finished second with 12 honorees and was one of two programs with double-digit representation. The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse earned the top spot with 17, and similar to the men's team, the Eagles' women's squad was the best represented with 14 student-athletes, while MIT finished second with 13.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.30 (4.0 scale) and have either competed in an NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championship or finished the regular season ranked in the top 35 in an individual event or top 25 in a relay event.

USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team Honorees

Name, Major Hometown


Derek Barnes Aerospace Engineering and Information Technology, Coto De Caza, Calif.

Justin Bullock Chemical Engineering, Detroit, Mich.

Harrison Hunter Computer Science, Northampton, Mass.

States Lee Mechanical Engineering, Charlotte, N.C.

Jordan Mizerak Mechanical Engineering, Lexington, Mass.

Carrington Motley Mechanical Engineering, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Samuel Parker Mechanical Engineering, Menlo Park, Calif.

Harry Rein Computer Science and Engineering, Hingham, Mass.

Adrian Samsel Mechanical Engineering, Whippany, N.J.

Benjamin Schreck Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Sherman Oaks, Calif.

Tyler Singer-Clark Computer Science and Engineering, Falmouth, Mass.

Benjie Xie Computer Science, El Dorado Hills, Calif.



Jackie Brew Chemical Engineering, Amherst, N.H.

Martina de Geus Biological Engineering, Los Altos, Calif.

Maryann Gong Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Livermore, Calif.

Cindy Huang Chemical-Biological Engineering, Mountain View, Calif.

Abigail Klein Computer Science, Bethesda, Md. 

Kendra Knittel Computer Science, Tucson, Ariz.

Jaclyn Konopka Brain and Cognitive Science, Novi, Mich.

Elaine McVay Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, San Ramon, Calif.   

Isabella Stuopis Mechanical Engineering, Amherst, N.H.

Veronica Szklarzewski Mechanical Engineering, Chicago, Ill.

Louise van den Heuvel Mechanical Engineering, Nashua, N.H.

Christina Wicker Physics, Oak Harbor, Wash.