Paul Dill Collects Coach of the Year Honors

Nov. 14, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The regional recognition for the MIT women's volleyball team continued this week as the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and New England Women's Volleyball Association (NEWVA) announced its postseason awards. For the second straight season Paul Dill was chosen as the AVCA New England Coach of the Year and the NEWVA Coach of Year, becoming the only two-time recipient of either award in the program's history.

The Engineers have surpassed the 20-win mark every season during Dill's 12-year tenure while he has amassed a record of 333-104 as the program's all-time winningest coach. He is only the second coach to reach the 30-win plateau in back-to-back seasons and three times during his career. MIT capped the 2007 campaign with a 36-3 ledger, which ranks second in the program's history behind the 41-2 standard set by the 1983 squad.

Amanda Morris was named the NEWVA Player of the Year and earned her second consecutive NEWVA All-New England First Team selection. She was also tabbed the AVCA New England Player of the Year while collecting AVCA New England All-Region accolades. Carrie Buchanan picked up her second career AVCA New England All-Region honor and made the NEWVA All-New England Second Team for the first time. Katie Rowe received her first plaudits from both organizations after she was chosen to the NEWVA All-New England Second Team and the AVCA New England All-Region Team.