MIT Lands 17 on NEWMAC Cross Country Academic All-Conference Teams

MIT Lands 17 on NEWMAC Cross Country Academic All-Conference Teams

Boston, Mass. (October 27) -- The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the league's Men's and Women's Cross Country Academic All-Conference Teams for the 2016 season. The Engineers placed a league-leading 11 student-athletes on the men's team, while the women's team has six runners on the Academic All-Conference squads.

Honorees must have met the following criteria to be eligible: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of a 3.5/4.0 scale or a 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2016 spring semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

Earning Academic All-Conference honors for the men were graduate student Matthew Deyo (Syracuse, N.Y.), senior Rory Beyer (San Mateo, Calif.), junior Ben Freed (Frederick, Md.), senior Brian Gilligan (Framingham, Mass.), senior Colin Godwin (Cary, N.C.), junior Alex Knoedler (Canon City, Colo.), sophomore Alex Knapp (West Chester, Pa.), junior Cooper Sloan (Sunnyvale, Calif.), sophomore Aidan Gilson (Florence, Mass.), sophomore Josh Rosenkranz (Glencoe, Ill.) and Daniel Weiss (Naperville, Ill.).

On the women's side, junior Clementine Mitchell (Glasgow, Scotland), junior Mary Eccles (Wahiawa, Hawaii), senior Sarah Quinn (Watchung, N.J.), senior Maryann Gong (Livermore, Calif.), sophomore Jenny Xu (Cuptertino, Calif.) and sophomore Leandra Zimmermann (Augsburg, Germany).

MIT is back in action on Saturday, October 29th as the Engineers travel to Smith College for the 2016 NEWMAC Championship. The men's race gets underway at 11 a.m., followed by the women's race at 12:15 p.m. The women's team enters this year's league meet as the nine-time defending champions, while the men's squad has captured the NEWMAC crown 18 consecutive seasons.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.