NEWMAC Announces Academic All-Conference Teams

NEWMAC Announces Academic All-Conference Teams

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2009 NEWMAC Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Thirty-five MIT athletes were recognized by the conference for their performance in the classroom.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2009 spring semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

MIT secured the second-highest number of honorees, following Springfield with 42; WPI had the third-highest with 30. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

Men's Cross Country
Benjamin Mattocks
Hemagiri Arumugam
Jack Bourbonnais
Logan Daum
Matthew Weaver
Stephen Serene
William Phipps

Women's Cross Country
Alina Gatowski
Jacqueline Wentz
Katherine Eve
Margaret Lloyd
Maria Monks

Field Hockey
Danielle Smith
Jessica Oleinik
Keri Dixon

Men's Soccer
Akara Ambak
Christian Therkelsen
Max Stein-Golenbock
Peter Bojo
Samuel Acquah

Women's Soccer
Alisha Lussiez
Edith Reshef
Katie Pesce
Kerry Box
Lauren Hernley
Liz Theurer

Women's Tennis
Anastasia Vishnevetsky
Jenny Dohlman
Jenny Hillary
Leslie Hansen
Sheena Bhalla
Sonya Makhni

Women's Volleyball
Alex May
Kate Kelly
Katrina Ellison