Thirty Engineers Named Academic All-Conference

Thirty Engineers Named Academic All-Conference

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the Academic All-Conference teams for the winter season of the 2010-11 academic year. The MIT swimming and diving and basketball teams have had 30 players tabbed for Academic-All Conference honors.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2010 spring semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are men’s and women’s swimming and diving and men’s and women’s basketball. The Engineers had ten student-athletes from each of their swimming and diving squads honored. Four men’s basketball players were also eligible for Academic All-Conference, as were six members of the women’s basketball team.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

MIT’s 30 honorees were far and away the most of any school in the conference. WPI had 17 students named to NEWMAC’s Academic All Conference, followed by Clark with 15 and Springfield with 13. Smith and Mount Holyoke each saw 9 students receive the honor, while 7 student-athletes from Babson were also recognized. Wellesley and Coast Guard each had eight student-athletes eligible for Academic All-Conference recognition.

The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:


Men’s Basketball


Billy Bender                                          2012       MIT

Jamie Karraker                                    2012       MIT

Arni Lehto                                         2012       MIT

Nick Sather                                       2013       MIT


Women’s Basketball


Liz Burton                                         2012       MIT

Lauren Sascha Burton                    2013       MIT

Stephanie Cooke                             2013       MIT

Marissa Good                                   2012       MIT

Anna Merrifield                               2013       MIT

Kristen Whaley                                2011       MIT


Men’s Swimming and Diving


Brett Boval                                        2012       MIT

Brendan Deveney                            2013       MIT

Michael Dobson                               2011       MIT

Kevin Lang                                         2013       MIT

David Parell                                       2012       MIT

Max Pruner                                       2013       MIT

Ron Rosenberg                                 2013       MIT

Toomas Sepp                                    2011       MIT

Ryan TerBush                                    2012       MIT

Wyatt Ubellacker                             2013       MIT


Women’s Swimming and Diving


Allison Alwan                                    2012       MIT

Caroline De Boer                              2011       MIT

Sydney Giblin                                    2012       MIT

Lauren Hernley                                 2011       MIT

Diana LaScala-Gruenewald             2011       MIT

Jillian Oliveira                                    2013       MIT

Marie Schmidt                                  2013       MIT

Sarah Scodel                                     2013       MIT

Megan Tadge                                    2012       MIT

Nicole Wang                                     2013       MIT