MIT Closes Successful Year at 26th Annual Celebration of Student-Athlete Excellence

MIT Closes Successful Year at 26th Annual Celebration of Student-Athlete Excellence

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Last night, the Department of Athletics, Physical Education, and Recreation capped another terrific year as it announced its end-of-the-year award winners at the 26th Annual Celebration of Student-Athlete Excellence. Senior water polo player Columbus Leonard (Mill Valley, Calif.) provided one of the evening's top highlights as the student guest speaker.

Leonard along with classmate Kameron Klauber (Carlsbad, Calif.) were honored with the Institute's athlete of the year awards while senior Noel Hollingsworth (Salt Lake City, Utah) and juniors Lauren Kuntz (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.) earned the coveted Malcolm G, Kispert Awards as MIT's top scholar-athletes.

A four-year starter in net, Leonard graduates as the Institute record-holder for saves in a game (21) and career saves (805). In an eight-team conference where six schools are Division I, he collected three all-conference awards and was recognized as the best goalie in the league with first team all-conference honors the past two seasons. Last year he was a first team Capital One Academic All-District selection and earned honorable mention All-America accolades.

As a sophomore, Klauber decided to join the field hockey team despite never having played the sport before. At the conclusion of her senior year, she broke five MIT field hockey records and led the country in assists per game. This past season, Klauber collected first-team All-America honors, was voted the New England East Regional Player of the Year, and earned NEWMAC Athlete of the Year accolades. She was instrumental in leading the Engineers to their second NEWMAC championship in three years and their first appearance in the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament.

In leading the men's basketball team to its first NCAA Final Four appearance and third NEWMAC Championship in four years, Hollingsworth received a pair of second team all-region honors. Carrying a 4.5 GPA while majoring in electrical engineering and computer science with a concentration in engineering, Hollingsworth was voted to the Capital One Academic All-America second team.

Kuntz is a two-time All-America honoree in the pole vault, earning a sixth-place finish at the 2011 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championship and a fourth-place ranking at the national outdoor meet that spring. She has a perfect 5.0 GPA while majoring in mechanical engineering and physics. Kuntz was awarded the Elite 89 Award at this past NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championship, an award given to the athlete with the highest GPA competing at the national championship.

McShane is the only player in history of the field hockey team to receive All-America honors three years in a row. A three-time NEWMAC all-conference selection, she scored the tying goal in this year's NEWMAC Championship with 81 seconds left that forced overtime and led to the Engineers' second title in three years. Carrying a 4.9 GPA in mechanical engineering, she was voted to the Capital One Academic All-America third team. McShane is the president of the MIT chapter of Alpha Phi, a residential tutor for the Women's Technology Program, and was inducted into the Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society.

2012 Celebration of Student-Athlete Excellence Award Winners

THE HOWARD W. JOHNSON AWARD - Presented annually to the male senior athlete of the year.
Columbus Leonard, Water Polo

THE BETSY SCHUMACKER MIT WOMAN ATHLETE OF THE YEAR AWARD - Presented annually for excellence in athletic competition by a female undergraduate.
    - Kameron Klauber, Field Hockey

THE MALCOM G. KISPERT AWARDS - Presented annually to the male and female scholar/athletes of the year.
    - Noel Hollingsworth, Basketball
    - Lauren Kuntz, Track and Field
    - Molly McShane, Field Hockey/Lacrosse

THE PEWTER BOWL AWARD - Presented annually to the female senior who has shown the highest qualities of inspiration and leadership in contributing to women's athletics.
    - Maggie Lloyd, Cross Country/Track and Field

THE ADMIRAL EDWARD L. COCHRANE AWARD - Presented annually to a male senior who has shown the highest qualities of humility, leadership and inspiration in intercollegiate athletics.
    - Dan McCue, Basketball

THE PHILLIP A. TRUSSELL PRIZE - Given to a male and female undergraduate student-athlete who demonstrate skill, sportsmanship and levity.
    - Benson George, Volleyball
    - Will Tashman, Basketball
    - Sharon Hao, Volleyball/Basketball

THE VARSITY CLUB AWARDS - Given to the outstanding male and female freshmen athletes of the year.
    - Justin Wallace, Football
    - Emmie Ryan, Swimming and Diving

    - "Superfans" Eric del Castillo and Jared Forman

2011-12 Team MVP Recipients

Baseball: Creed Mangrum Women's Sailing: Katii Gullick, Iris Xu
Men's Basketball: Mitchell Kates Men's Soccer: Zach Kabelac
Women's Basketball: Mari Kordell Women's Soccer: Meghan Wright
Men's Heavyweight Crew: Andrew Yang Softball: Ellie Fodor
Men's Lightweight Crew: Stephen Freiberg Squash: Peter Riley
Women's Lightweight Crew: Lauren Ayers, Katie Inman Men's Swimming and Diving: Wyatt Ubellacker
Women's Openweight Crew: Katelyn Wolfenberger Women's Swimming and Diving: Emmie Ryan
Men's Cross Country: Dan Harper Men's Tennis: Edwin Zhang
Women's Cross Country: Brooke Johnson Women's Tennis: Anastasia Vishnevetsky
Men's Fencing: Daniel Levine Men's Indoor Track and Field: CK Umachi
Women's Fencing: Kirsten Hessler Men's Outdoor Track and Field: Tyler Singer-Clark
Field Hockey: Molly McShane Women's Indoor Track and Field: Jamie Simmons
Football: Justin Wallace Women's Outdoor Track and Field: Jamie Simmons
Men's Lacrosse: Bryan Beller Men's Volleyball: Matt Hohenberger
Women's Lacrosse: Katie Kauffman Women's Volleyball: Katie Spielbauer
Rifle: Nigel Kojimoto Water Polo: Craig Cheney, Columbus Leonard
Coed Sailing: Andrew Sommer, Steph Tong