NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A league-leading 30 athletes represented MIT on the 2012 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Winter Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's basketball and men's and women's swimming and diving.

WPI secured the second-highest number of honorees with 20, followed by Clark (19), and Springfield (15). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Basketball
Billy Bender
Will Dickson
Noel Hollingsworth
Jamie Karraker
Arni Lehto
Cuong Nguyen

Women's Basketball
Liz Burton
Lauren Sascha Burton
Sharon Hao
Anna Merrifield

Men's Swimming and Diving
Brendan Deveney
Colby Dunn
Jeffrey Lin
David Parell
Max Pruner
Ron Rosenberg
Ryan TerBush
Wyatt Ubellacker

Women's Swimming and Diving
Allison Alwan
Nora Darago
Chelsea Finn
Sydney Giblin
Alexandra Hall
Elina Hu
Morganne Klein
Calley Murphy
Katelyn Rossick
Elise Stave
Megan Tadge
Sarah Weiss