NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A league-leading 57 athletes represented MIT on the 2012 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 37, followed by WPI (33), and Mount Holyoke (27). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Cross Country
Justin Bullock
Matthew Jordan
Jay McKenna
Ricardo Paez
Spencer Wenck

Women's Cross Country
Kaitlin Allen
Marie Burkland
Margaret Coad
Martina de Geus
Amelia Helmick
Dacie Manion
Elaine McVay
Claire O'Connell
Alexandra Taylor
Louise van den Heuvel

Field Hockey
Elizabeth Dethy
Michelle Dion
Sarah Fay
Diane Kim
Jenna Klein
Caitlin Mackey
Molly McShane
Michelle Teplensky
Maddy Wharton

Men's Soccer
Jason Adler
Samuel Cannon
Alexander Dago
Nicholas Diamantoni
Chris Hammond
Cameron McCord
Tyler Singer-Clark
Jonathan Tebes
Andrew Young

Women's Soccer
Michelle Battipaglia
Stephanie Cooke
Rachel Dias Carlson
Emily Lydon
Leslie Meyer
Kaitlyn Nealon
Faith OBrian
Jessica Ong
Allison Park
Meghan Wright

Women's Tennis
Madeline Aby
Michelle Dutt
Julia Hsu
Caitlin Pomeroy
Candace Wu

Women's Volleyball
Jenny Astrachan
Tatiana Berger
Kristine Bunker
Jess Fessler
Emma Gargus
Sharon Hao
Alyssa Rothman
Katie Spielbauer
Morgan Stewart