NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

BOSTON, Mass. – A league-leading 62 athletes represented MIT on the 2013 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 40, followed by WPI (34), and Emerson (33). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Cross Country
Matthew Jordan
Jay McKenna

Women's Cross Country
Kaitlin Allen
Martina de Geus
Cindy Huang
Shivani Kaushal
Stephanie Marzen
Sarah Quinn
Heather Sweeney
Alexandra Taylor
Louise van den Heuvel
Nicole Zeinstra

Field Hockey
Elizabeth Dethy
Isabella DiDio
Sarah Fay
Morgan Gulliver
Diane Kim
Caitlin Mackey
Olivia Massey
Molly McNamara
Michelle Teplensky
Maddy Wharton

Men's Soccer
Jason Adler
Nikolas Albarran
Samuel Cannon
Chester Chambers
Fernando Cunha
Nicholas Diamantoni
Andrew Fijan
Austin Freel
Colin Hong
Joe Schuman
Jonathan Tebes
Andrew Young

Women's Soccer
Michelle Battipaglia
Rachel Dias Carlson
Priyanka Gaur
Elena Gianotas
Jennifer Ibanez
Ambika Krishnamachar
Emily Lydon
Morgan Moroi
Kaitlyn Nealon
Faith OBrian
Amma Okwara
Jessica Ong

Women's Tennis
Michelle Dutt
Julia Hsu
Vynnie Kong
Alana Peters
Ava Soleimany
Victoria Tam
Iris Zhuang

Women's Volleyball
Jenny Astrachan
Tatiana Berger
Kristine Bunker
Chloe Dlott
Jess Fessler
Emma Gargus
Angela Ha
Sharon Hao
Morgan Stewart