NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

BOSTON, Mass. – A league-leading 30 athletes represented MIT on the 2014 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Winter Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's basketball and men's and women's swimming and diving.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 23, followed by Clark (19), and WPI (17). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Basketball
Andrew Acker
David Bender
Joseph Campion
Ryan Frankel
Dennis Levene
Matt Redfield
Lampros Tsontzos

Women's Basketball
Michelle Battipaglia
Sabrina Drammis
Sharon Hao
Maya Ramachandran

Men's Swimming and Diving
Ben Bauchwitz
Sean Corcoran
Michael Everett
Brad Jokubaitis
Remy Mock
Daryl Neubieser
Thomas Norris
Danil Tyulmankov

Women's Swimming and Diving
Michelle Cunningham
Chelsea Finn
Kristen Finney
Margaret Guo
Jane He
Sydney Hodges
Taylor Pearl
Georgia Van de Zande
Jessica Wass
Sarah Weiss
Katherine Yu