NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

BOSTON, Mass. – A league-leading 71 athletes represented MIT on the 2014 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 55, followed by WPI (37), and Clark (27). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Cross Country
Rory Beyer
Kris Frey
Brian Gilligan
Colin Goodwin
Matt Jordan
Spencer Wenck
Benji Xie

Women's Cross Country
Kali Benavides
Maryann Gong
Cindy Huang
Nadia Lucas
Stephanie Marzen
Elaine McVay
Sarah Quinn
Heather Sweeney
Christina Wicker
Nicole Zeinstra

Field Hockey
Elizabeth Dethy
Tate DeWeese
Keeley Erhardt
Sarah Fay
Morgan Gulliver
Caitlin Mackey
Morgan O'Brien
Siobhan Rigby
Emma Valentine

Men's Soccer
Jason Adler
Nikolas Albarran
Sam Cannon
Chester Chambers
Fernando Cunha
Nicholas Diamantoni
Austin Freel
Colin Hong
Kareem Itani
Andrew Young

Women's Soccer
Michelle Battipaglia
Kathleen Chen
Elena Gianotas
Victoria Gregory
Jennifer Ibanez
Ambika Krishnamachar
Anjali Krishnamachar
Emily Lydon
Morgan Moroi
Faith OBrian
Jessica Ong
Ashley Peter
Elizabeth Porter
Lauren Ullmann
Page Uriarte
Hannah Zlotnick
Anna Zukowski

Women's Tennis
Michelle Dutt
Elysa Kohrs
Vynnie Kong
Krystal Lai
Alana Peters
Ava Soleimany
Victoria Tam
Iris Zhuang

Women's Volleyball
Jenny Astrachan
Chloe Dlott
Nicole Gagnier
Megan Gebhard
Jennie Glerum
Angela Ha
Lara Markey
Morgan Stewart
Lauren Uhr
Tori Wuthrich