NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Winter Academic All-Conference Awards

BOSTON, Mass. – A league-leading 38 athletes represented MIT on the 2015 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Winter Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's basketball and men's and women's swimming and diving.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 24, followed by Clark (19), and Smith (13). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Basketball
Andrew Acker
David Bender
Tim Butala
Ryan Frankel
Russell Johnson
Dennis Levene
Justin Pedley
Nicholas Prus
Matt Redfield
Lampros Tsontzos

Women's Basketball
Sabrina Drammis
Madeleine Duran
Alexxis Isaac
Paige Omura
Maya Ramachandran

Men's Swimming and Diving
Ben Bauchwitz
Sean Corcoran
Eric Dahlseng
Jeremy Ellison
Michael Everett
Brad Jokubaitis
Michael Lu
Henry Lubowe
Daryl Neubieser
Thomas Norris
Kale Rogers

Women's Swimming and Diving
Michelle Cunningham
Valkyrie Felso
Margaret Guo
Jane He
Hannah Huynh
Veronika Jedryka
Sarah Osmuiski
Taylor Pearl
Madeleine Severance
Emily Tsang
Georgia Van De Zande
Katherine Yu