MIT Rounds Out Spectacular Year at 30th Annual Student-Athlete Excellence Banquet

MIT Rounds Out Spectacular Year at 30th Annual Student-Athlete Excellence Banquet

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – On Friday, May 13, the Department of Athletics, Physical Education, and Recreation capped another terrific year as it announced its end-of-the-year award winners at the 30th Annual Student-Athlete Excellence Banquet. Women’s volleyball senior Meryl Gibbs (Bellaire, Texas) and teammate junior Jennie Glerum (Redmond, Wash.) served as the emcees, while senior Connor McMahan (Londrina, Brazil) from the men’s heavyweight crew team was the student guest speaker.

Seniors Sean Bingham (Garden City, N.Y.) along with classmate Cimran Virdi (Walnut Creek, Calif.) were honored with the Institute’s athlete of the year awards while junior Arinze Okeke (Hawthorne, Calif.) and senior Margaret Guo (San Diego, Calif.) earned the coveted Malcolm G. Kispert Awards as MIT’s top scholar-athletes.

Bingham guided the offensive attack for the MIT men’s soccer team with 21 goals, 12 assists, 54 points, eight game winning goals, was a perfect 2-for-2 in penalty kicks and helped the Engineers to their first NCAA Division III Sweet Sixteen appearance since 2003. The senior midfielder now stands alone in program history as the all-time leader in goals (70) goals and points (162) in 77 games played. Among all NCAA Division III student-athletes, Bingham ranked first in game winning goals (8), fourth in goals (21) and points (54), fifth in points per game (2.57), 10th in goals per game (1.00), 13th in assists (12) and 17th in assists per game (0.57) in 2016. Nationally, the senior was named as a and NSCAA First Team All-American, the Forward of the Year and the ECAC Division III New England Offensive Player of the Year. On top of his national accolades, Bingham was tabbed as the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year and four times as the NEWMAC Offensive Player of the Week.

Virdi became just the second student-athlete across all three divisions to win three consecutive pole vault national titles at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championship held back in March. As a result, Virdi was named as the USTFCCCA Division III New England Women’s Field Athlete of the Year and helped the Engineers to a fifth place finish in the team standings, the third time in which MIT has finished in the top-5 at the national meet. After clinching the pole vault championship, Virdi cleared a height of 4.13m (16-feet, 6.5-inches) to break both the MIT indoor record and facility record.

A horizontal jumper (long jump and triple jump) for the men’s track and field team, Okeke carries a 4.9 GPA in biological engineering. Okeke earned All-America honors, for the first time in his career, at the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championship in the triple jump as he finished fourth overall with a distance of 48-feet, 1.75-inches (14.67m). The junior became the first jumper to place in the top-8 at the national meet since the 2009-10 season and hopes to better his performance at the upcoming NCAA Division III Outdoor Championship next weekend. Okeke currently ranks second in the country in the triple jump as he set a new personal record of 48-feet, 4-inches (14.73m) at the 2016 PLNU Track and Field Invitational back in March. After his outstanding indoor season, Okeke was honored with the USTFCCCA’s Division IIII New England Men’s Field Athlete of the Year award, was named New England All-Region and as the New England Division III Indoor Championship Most Valuable Player.

Guo qualified individually for the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championship for the first time in her career and was a part of four relays at the national meet all while keeping her perfect 5.0 GPA intact as an electrical engineering and computer science major. At NCAA’s Guo earned All-America honors as a part of the 400-medley relay, 400-free relay, 200-medley relay and 200-free relay. The senior swam the third leg of the 400-medley relay, helping the quartet to fourth place, the best finish in program history for a relay team at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championship. Guo will leave her mark on the swimming and diving program at MIT as she was a pivotal member in breaking both 200 and 400-medley program records this season.

2016 Celebration of Student-Athlete Excellence Award Winners:

THE HOWARD W. JOHNSON AWARD - Presented annually to the male senior athlete of the year.

Sean Bingham, Soccer

THE BETSY SCHUMACKER MIT WOMAN ATHLETE OF THE YEAR AWARD - Presented annually for excellence in athletic competition by a female undergraduate.

Cimran Virdi, Track and Field

THE MALCOM G. KISPERT AWARDS - Presented annually to the male and female scholar-athletes of the year.

Arinze Okeke, Track and Field
Margaret Guo, Swimming and Diving

THE PEWTER BOWL AWARD - Presented annually to the female senior who has shown the highest qualities of inspiration and leadership in contributing to women's athletics.

Margaret Guo, Swimming and Diving

THE ADMIRAL EDWARD L. COCHRANE AWARD - Presented annually to a male senior who has shown the highest qualities of humility, leadership and inspiration in intercollegiate athletics.

Alex Lednev, Swimming and Diving
Kale Rogers, Water Polo

THE PHILIP A. TRUSSELL PRIZE - Given to a male and female undergraduate student-athlete who demonstrate skill, sportsmanship and levity.

Ory Tasman, Water Polo
Veronika Jedryka, Swimming and Diving

THE VARSITY CLUB AWARDS - Given to the outstanding male and female freshmen athletes of the year.

Adis Ojeda, Football
Kara Holinski, Basketball
Bailey Tregoning, Field Hockey/Track and Field


Oren Katzen, Volleyball


Darlene Cox

THE HAROLD J. PETTEGROVE AWARD – In recognition of outstanding service to intramural athletics.

Alex Dalzell

2015-16 Team MVP Recipients
Baseball: Austin Filiere
Men’s Basketball: Justin Pedley, Bradley Jomard
Women’s Basketball: Sabrina Drammis
Men’s Heavyweight Crew: Berk Ozturk
Men’s Lightweight Crew: Aaron Baumgarten
Women’s Lightweight Crew: Ella Branch
Women’s Openweight Crew: Veronica Toro
Men’s Cross Country: Colin Godwin
Women’s Cross Country: Maryann Gong
Men’s Fencing: Giulio Gueltrini
Women’s Fencing: Madison Douglas
Field Hockey: Katie Notarangelo
Football: Anthony Emberley, Adis Ojeda
Men’s Lacrosse: Eric Bartell, Graham Davis
Women’s Lacrosse: Christine Jiang
Rifle: Sarah Wright
Coed Sailing: Ty Ingram, Lisa Sukharev-Chuyan
Women’s Sailing: Robyn Lesh, Elizabeth Zhang
Men’s Soccer: Sean Bingham
Women’s Soccer: Lauren Ullmann
Softball: Alexandra Marshall
Squash: Jeff Hu
Men’s Swimming and Diving: Dougie Kogut
Women’s Swimming and Diving: Veronika Jedryka
Men’s Tennis: Tyler Barr
Women’s Tennis: Dora Tzeng
Men’s Indoor Track and Field: Michael Kaba
Men’s Outdoor Track and Field: Arinze Okeke
Women’s Indoor Track and Field: Maryann Gong
Women’s Outdoor Track and Field: Jackie Vahey
Men’s Volleyball: Martin Krasuski
Women’s Volleyball: Megan Gebhard
Water Polo: Kale Rogers, Ory Tasman