NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

NEWMAC Announces Fall Academic All-Conference Awards

BOSTON, Mass. – A league-leading 60 athletes represented MIT on the 2015 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Criteria includes a minimum GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale, achieving second year academic status at his or her institution, and being a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

The NEWMAC consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, WPI, and MIT.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC are: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 51, followed by WPI (49), and Wheaton (24) and Smith (24). The following is a list of MIT's NEWMAC Academic All-Conference recipients:

Men's Cross Country
Rory Beyer
Matthew Deyo
Benjamin Freed
Brian Gilligan
Colin Godwin
Alexander Knoedler
Cooper Sloan
David Walter

Women's Cross Country
Mary Eccles
Maryann Gong
Clementine Mitchell
Sarah Quinn
Heather Sweeney
Nicole Zeinstra

Field Hockey
Tate DeWeese
Keeley Erhardt
Morgan Gulliver
Amanda Lowery
Molly McNamara
Ellen Mulé
Morgan O'Brien
Siobhan Rigby
Laila Shehata

Men's Soccer
Fernando Cunha
Marco Conqueiro
Austin Freel
Vickram Goel
Joseph Han
Gregory Hui
Kareem Itani
Nathaniel Johnson
Joseph Schuman
Ryan Stuntz

Women's Soccer
Kathleen Chen
Christina Dalzell
Jillian Dressler
Lindsay Epstein
Jane Fessenden
Julia Goupil
Jennifer Ibanez
Anjali Krishnamachar
Nicole Miko
Morgan Moroi
Elizabeth Porter
Annelise Steele
Anna Zukowski

Women's Tennis
Elysa Kohrs
Krystal Lai
Rena Liu
Alana Peters
Ava Soleimany
Victoria Tam
Dora Tzeng
Iris Zhuang

Women's Volleyball
Chloe Dlott
Megan Gebhard
Meryl Gibbs
Jennie Glerum
Lisette Tellez
Tori Wuthrich