MIT Rifle Takes Second at Annual Beanpot Match

MIT Rifle Takes Second at Annual Beanpot Match

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Competing for the first time since early December, the MIT Rifle team hosted its annual Beanpot competition at the MIT Shooting Center on Friday and Saturday. Shooting against a seven-team field that included No. 17 Akron, the Engineers wound up second overall with an overall score of 4,399. Akron was first with 4,556 points, with Penn State taking third with 4,388 and Coast Guard fourth with a total of 4,301.

Senior Elizabeth Phillips (Anchorage, Alaska) continued her strong season for MIT, tying for the top score in the air rifle completion with a total of 576. Victoria Brown and Crystal Reynolds of Akron also posted 576's for the Zips. MIT's team total of 2,224 was third among the competing teams, trailing Akron (2,292) and Penn State (2,247).

Freshmen Sarah Wright (Christchurch, New Zealand) and David D'Achiardi (Bogota, Colombia) each posted a season-best score in air rifle for MIT, firing a 563 and 529 respectively.  Junior Kaiying Liao (Issaquah, Wash.) finished with a 545 for the Engineers, with senior Timothy Jenks (The Woodlands, Texas) turning in a 540 to round out the scoring for MIT.

Two other Engineers had season-high air rifle scores for MIT. Junior Erica Chung (Glen Rock, N.J.) turned in a 516, while freshman Abra Shen (Toronto, Ontario) posted a 518.

In the small bore competition MIT turned in a 2,175 to claim second to Akron's 2,264. Phillips and Wright were again the top two shooters for the Engineers, with Phillips posted a 562, tying for fifth overall, and Wright a 543. Alan Agnew and John Hupp from Akron shared high score honors with 571 totals. Jenks and D'Achiardi tied for the third best score for the Engineers with a 535, with Liao adding a 517. Freshman Eeway Hsu (Menlo Park, Calif.) established a new career best for MIT with her score of 475.   

MIT will be on the road for its next competition as it takes on the Wentworth Institute of Technology on Saturday, February 9 starting at 9:00 a.m.