Crain and Schlecht Pull Tech into Ninth at Boston Dinghy Cup

Crain and Schlecht Pull Tech into Ninth at Boston Dinghy Cup

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – C-Division skipper Philip Crain and crew Lisa Schlecht stole the show with a first-place mark in their circuit as the MIT sailing team slotted ninth out of 18 teams at the 74th annual Boston Dinghy Cup this past weekend. The event was hosted by MIT, Harvard University, and Boston University.

With a score of 84, fourth best among all groups, Crain and Schlecht finished in the top 10 in all 17 races. The duo never skipped a beat while securing three first-place marks and 11 top-five finishes. Crain and Schlecht faced tricky southerly winds of 4-12 knots on Sunday, after battling Saturday's northeast breeze that shifted to the east- southeast at 6-12 knots along the Charles River.

B-Division skipper Eamon Glackin and crew Elizabeth Hass posted five top-five slots while finishing in 10th place. A-team skipper Joshua Leighton and crew Victoria Lee finished second in the 14th round while closing in 13th place.

Tufts University won the event with a score of 335. Rounding out the top five were Boston University (338), Brown University (342), Harvard University (350), and Dartmouth College (370).

MIT also finished 11th out of 16 teams at the Owen Trophy hosted by Brown. Competing for the Cardinal and Gray were skippers Andrew Sommer and David Alfonso and crew Stephanie Tong, Jillian Reddy, Kelden Pehr, and Steven Drapcho. The B-team of Alfonso, Perhr and Drapcho placed eighth with a score of 91, six points better than cross-town rival Harvard.

Overall, Yale University won the event with a score of 70, followed by Brown (88), Boston College (124), Harvard (137), and Tufts (165).

MIT will compete at the Ferrarone Team Race at Roger Williams University and the Dellenbaugh Trophy at Brown University next weekend.