Alfonso, Pehr Take Second as Engineers Place Eighth at Oberg Trophy

Alfonso, Pehr Take Second as Engineers Place Eighth at Oberg Trophy

BOSTON, Mass. – Despite soaking rain conditions along the Charles River, freshmen A-Division stars David Alfonso and Kelden Pehr finished second out of 16 teams as the MIT sailing team placed eighth overall at the 71st Oberg Trophy hosted by Northeastern University and Boston University this past weekend. Alfonso, the skipper, and crew Pehr fought varying winds of 5-10 knots from the east-to-northeast on Saturday and 5-7 knots with gusts to 10 and lulls to 0 from the west-to-northwest on Sunday.

Racing on the W-4 course, Alfonso and Pehr dominated with seven top-five finishes among the eight rounds, including a win in the eighth tilt. The duo's total tally of 31 fell just three points shy of BU's 28, as the Terriers won the overall event with a score of 60.

B-Division skipper Charles Field and crew Adrienne Tran finished 12th in their circuit with a pair of eighth-place marks.

Overall, Rhode Island College finished in second place following BU. Rounding out the top-five was Dartmouth College, Boston College, and Roger Williams University.

MIT, meanwhile, got a terrific outing from skipper Josh Leighton and crew Victoria Lee at the New England Championships hosted by Connecticut College. The A-Division duo placed fourth in their circuit out of 18 teams as the Engineers finished 11th overall. After a slow start, Leighton and Lee closed with seven top-five slots during the 17 rounds and won two consecutive races in the latter tilts.

The Cardinal and Gray also competed at the Women's Emily Wick/Sloop Shrew Intersectional Regatta at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy. The Engineers finished 15th out of 16 teams, as the University of Charleston won the event with a score of 126. Kati Gullick and Jillian Reedy represented the Cardinal and Gray in the "A" division while Jamie Curran and Claire DeRosa competed in the "B" division.