Sailing Wins Oberg Trophy as Top Greater Boston School

Sailing Wins Oberg Trophy as Top Greater Boston School

Cambridge, Mass. – The MIT Engineers sailing team emerged with the Oberg Trophy this past weekend as they hosted the regatta on the Charles River. Although the Brown Bears and Dartmouth Big Green topped the Engineers in points, MIT was the best placing Greater Boston School at the event, and brought home the hardware from the 18-team regatta.

For the second week in a row, Philip Crain was dominant in the C-Division, which he won with 42 points. Crain never finished worse than eighth in the 10 heats, including five top-three finishes and one victory. The junior, sailing with sophomore Stephen Drapcho, edged out the Rhode Island Rams by two points to claim the victory.

Andrew Sommer and Ellie Hass placed sixth in the first division of racers, sparked by a victory in the fifth race of the regatta. The B-Division team of sophomores David Alfonso and Kelden Pehr rounded out the strong afternoon with a fourth place showing in the B-Division, tying in points with third place Vermont. Kelden and Pehr took two second place finishes, one fifth place and three six-place marks throughout their participation in the competition.

At the Stu Nelson intersectional women's regatta in Connecticut, Katii Gullick and Reguli Granger grabbed fourth place in their A-Division boat. The pair of juniors finished third and first, respectively, in the last two of eight heats to finish with 62 points.

Hanna Vincent and Hannah Sparkman had a sixth place finish in their second heat, but could not manage another top-ten placement and slipped to sixteenth in the B-Division. The Engineers slid into the final standings in 14th place of the 18 team regatta, which was won by host Connecticut College, whose 30 points in the B-Division helped to create separation between them and second place Yale. The Vermont Catamounts took third place.