Women’s Sailing Secures Sixth Place at President’s Trophy

Women’s Sailing Secures Sixth Place at President’s Trophy

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Competing in the President's Trophy, the MIT women's sailing team finished sixth out of 13 teams. The nationally-ranked No. 18 coed squad captured seventh and 13th place at the Central Series 3, fourth at the Lynne Marchiando Trophy which qualified it for the Friis Team Race where it finished in eighth place.

Senior skipper Katii Gullick (Portland, Maine) and sophomore crew Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.) teamed up for a fifth-place finish in the A Division of the President's Trophy. The pair had eight top-five finishes in 12 rounds including two runner-up performances and two third-place rankings. In the B Division, freshman Laura Dunphy (Shelburne, Vt.) and sophomore Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.) ranked eighth behind the strength of 10 top-10 placements, highlighted by a pair of third and fifth-place finishes.

MIT had two entries at the Central Series 3, with the "Engineers" capturing seventh and the "Angry Beavers" securing 13th out of 15 teams. The "Engineers" were represented by senior Tevis Nichols (Skylonder, Calif.) and sophomore Angelique Nehmzow (Hong Kong) in the A Division who finished in the top 10 in nine out of 10 rounds with a victory in the seventh race and third-place spots in the second and sixth rotations. Senior Omar Abudayyeh (Kalamazoo, Mich.), sophomore Billy Thalheimer (Natick, Mass.), and freshman Priyanka Chatterjee (Columbus, Ga.) ranked 11th in the B Division. The trio was fifth, seventh, and eighth as it cracked the top 10 on eight occasions.

The "Angry Beavers" A Division boat of freshmen Zack Drach (Wilmington, N.C.) and Samantha Albright (Madison, Conn.) claimed 10th place courtesy of seven top-10 performances and finishes of third, fifth, and sixth place. In the B Division, freshmen Matthew Vernacchia (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Bruno Faviero (Boca Raton, Fla.), Brian Belding (Woodstown, N.J.), and Brooke Winslow collaborated for a ranking of 14th as the quartet's best outing was 10th place in the ninth round.

In Saturday's Lynne Marchiando Trophy, MIT compiled a ledger of 5-7, placing it among the top four teams and resulting in a spot at the Friis Trophy held at Tufts University the next day. The Engineers generated a total of 2-12 on Sunday which put them in eighth place out of eight squads. The Cardinal and Gray's pairs for the event were senior Eamon Glackin (Huntington, N.Y.) and junior Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas), junior Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.) and senior Steph Tong (Hong Kong), and freshman Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.) and junior Steven Drapcho (Newtown, Pa.).

Next up for MIT will be its own Midweek Tech Invite on Tuesday, April 10 followed by the Women's Emily Wick Trophy, New England Dinghy Championship, and Oberg Trophy this weekend.