No. 16 MIT Sailing Has Impressive Opening Weekend

No. 16 MIT Sailing Has Impressive Opening Weekend

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In its first action of the 2012-13 season, the nationally-ranked No. 16 MIT sailing team placed ninth at the Harry Anderson Trophy, first and fourth at the FJ Invitational, fifth in the Toni Deutsch '58 Regatta, and fifth at the Pine Trophy.

Competing in a 17-team field at the Harry Anderson Trophy, seniors Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.), Mark Van de Loo (Eau Claire, Wis.), and Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas) finished eighth in the A Division. The trio ranked third in the sixth and seventh races, fourth in the fourth round, and sixth in the third and fourth outings. In the B Division, freshman skipper Christopher Ford (Millbrae, Calif.), senior Steven Drapcho (Newtown, Pa.), freshman Jeremy Kalas (Huntington, N.Y.), Van De Loo, and senior Taylor Burfield (Naples, Fla.) was 13th overall as their besting showing was second place in the second rotation.

MIT had two entries in the FJ Invitational, with the "Engineers" winning the event while the "Angry Beavers" claimed fourth place out of nine squads. In her intercollegiate debut, freshman Rosalind Lesh (Everson, Wash.) teamed with sophomore Samantha Albright (Madison, Conn.) in the A Division for eight top-three finishes including a trio of victories en route to first place in the A Division. Freshman William Livernois (Newman, Ga.) and junior Grace Young (Bethesda, Md.) also sat atop the B Division standings courtesy of third and fourth-place rankings. Sophomore Zack Drach (Wilmington, N.C.) and freshman Audrey Olshefsky (White, Wash.) led the "Angry Beavers" to third place in the A Division by winning three races and capturing third in the fourth round. In the B Division, senior David Rodriguez (Tallahassee, Fla.) and sophomore Sara Falcone (Anchorage, Alaska) ranked eighth as they secured seventh place in the fourth round and ninth place in the ninth rotation.

The A Division unit of sophomore Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.) and juniors Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.) and Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.) captured third out of 15 teams in the A Division of the Toni Deutsch '58 Regatta. The trio generated eight top-five placements, featuring one victory, three second-place outings, and a third-place performance in the final rotation. Junior Hanna Vincent (Santa Barbara, Calif.), Brooke Winslow, and senior Soraya Shehata (Bethesda, Md.) cracked the top 10 of the B Division in 11 of 14 races, highlighted by first place in the seventh round and fourth place in the fifth race.

Senior Philip Crain (Houston, Texas), sophomore Laura Dunphy (Shelburne, Vt.), and freshmen David Larson (San Diego, Calif.) and Joe Paggi (Bayville, N.J.) represented MIT at the Pine Trophy. In nine rounds, the quartet finished third on four occasions and second in the third rotation.

Next weekend, MIT is slated to host the Hatch Brown Trophy and travel to the Mrs. Hurst Bowl and Freshman Invite.