Sailing Secures Postseason Bids Following Outstanding Weekend

Sailing Secures Postseason Bids Following Outstanding Weekend

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT women's sailing team captured fourth place at the Victorian Coffee Urn while the nationally-ranked No. 9 coed squad was fifth at the Erwin Schell Trophy, guaranteeing both teams spots in their respective Atlantic Coast Championships to be held November 10-11. The Engineers' success continued at the freshman only Nickerson Trophy where they finished eighth out of 19 teams.

Junior Hanna Vincent (Santa Barbara, Calif.), senior Taylor Burfield (Naples, Fla.), and Brooke Winslow registered eight top-10 finishes in nine rounds of action en route to second place out of 18 teams in the B Division of the Victorian Coffee Urn. The trio won the fifth rotation and had third-place finishes in the second and third races. Sophomore Chloe Lepert (Belmont, Calif.) along with juniors Iris Xu (Madison, Wis.) and Keren Gu (Bowie, Md.) collaborated for a fifth-place finish in the A Division as they won the sixth round, were the runner-up in the next outing, placed third in the fourth rotation, and claimed fourth in the second race.

At the Erwin Schell Trophy, seniors Philip Crain (Houston, Texas), Steven Drapcho (Newtown, Pa.), and Mark Van de Loo (Eau Claire, Wis.) were the runner-up in the B Division courtesy of six top-five placements. The boat won the seventh and 10th rounds, finished third in the ninth rotation, and captured fourth place in the fifth, sixth, and 11th races. In the A Division, seniors Andrew Sommer (Duxbury, Mass.), Kelden Pehr (Seabrook, Texas), Eben Freeman (Zurich, Switzerland), and Van de Loo tallied eight top-10 performances in 12 rounds to propel them to eighth place in a field of 18 teams. After back-to-back sixth-place finishes in the second and third races, the quartet won the fourth and 11th rotations while adding a fourth-place outing in the seventh round to its total.

Freshmen David Larson (San Diego, Calif.) and Audrey Olshefsky (White, Wash.) led the way for MIT at the Nickerson Trophy as they clinched eighth place in the A Division. The duo entered the top 10 in eight of 10 rounds, including third place in the second rotation, fifth in the first and fifth races, and four eighth-place finishes. Fellow rookies Rosalind Lesh (Everson, Wash.), William Livernois (Newman, Ga.), and Marina Crowe (Swarthmore, Pa.) ranked 11th in the B Division on the strength of a third-place performance in the opening race, fifth place in the fourth round, and seventh place in the eighth and ninth rotations.

Next up for MIT will be the Professor NoRinger Regatta, the Crews Regatta, and the Hap Moore Team Race.