Sailing’s Jorlyn Le Garrec ’17 Awarded With Fulbright Scholarship

Photo Taken By Rob Migliaccio
Photo Taken By Rob Migliaccio

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (August 11) – Recent sailing graduate Jorlyn Le Garrec (Pittsburgh, Pa.) along with three MIT undergraduate and two other recent alumni have been awarded Fulbright U.S. Student Program grants to conduct independent research projects overseas during the coming academic year.

The 2017-2018 Fulbright Students from MIT will engage in research projects in Germany, Austria, China, New Zealand, Mexico, and Poland.

Le Garrec, a four year member of the MIT sailing team, graduated this spring with a BS in mechanical and ocean engineering. As a Fulbright Student in New Zealand, she will pursue a research-based mechanical engineering master's degree through the University of Auckland. Le Garrec's research focuses on underwater robotics.

With the MIT sailing team, Le Garrec aided the Engineers to an eighth place finish at the 2017 ICSA Team Race National Championship and the 2016 ICSA Women's National Championship. This past season, the coed sailing team qualified for nationals with a third place finish at the Fowle Trophy the New England Team Race Championship, while in 2016 the team qualified by taking ninth in the National Semifinals and tenth at the Reed Trophy – the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association's (NEISA) Women's Spring Championship.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and operates in over 160 countries worldwide. It is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement as well as record of service and leadership potential in their respective fields. 

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

Portions of this release were written by Julia Mongo of the Office of Distinguished Fellowships at MIT