Women's Sailing Wins First NEISA Championship and Qualifies for Nationals

Photo by Rob Migliaccio
Photo by Rob Migliaccio


- Results:

NEISA Women's Championship - 1st of 15
Boston Dinghy Club Challenge Cup - 7th of 15
Morris Trophy - 9th of 13

The Lead: The MIT women's sailing team continued their impressive spring season as they came from behind to win their first New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association (NEISA) Championship in program history and earned an automatic berth to the 2019 Women's Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) National Championship which will be held in Newport, RI later in May.

The Engineers also competed at the Boston Dinghy Club Challenge Cup where they finished seventh and the Morris Trophy where they finished ninth.


- At the NEISA Women's Championship, MIT took home the team title with 159 points as the Engineers edged out Brown University (164 points) and Dartmouth College (174 points) for the championship. Annie Hughes (Guilford, Conn.)Noa Yoder (New York, N.Y.) and Tiffany Xi (Foster City, Calif.) led the A Division boat to a runner up finish with 75 points as they crossed the line inside the top-5 in ten of 16 races. The B Division boat sailed by Emily Haig (Beach Haven, N.J.)Sarah Caso (Duxbury, Mass.), Brooke McGoldrick (Southport, Conn.) and Julia Cho (Cupertino, Calif.) finished fourth with 84 points, won race number one, seven and fifteen and crossed the line inside the top-5 in ten races over the weekend.

- At the conclusion of the NEISA Women's Championship, E. Haig and Hughes earned spots on the All-NEISA Skipper First Team and D. Haig was placed on the All-NEISA Skipper Second Team and is a finalist for the Rookie of the Year. Caso, McGoldrick and Xi were placed on teh All-NEISA Crew First Team and Xi was named as the NEISA Crew of the Year.

- At the Boston Dinghy Club Challenge Cup, MIT finished seventh as a team with 216 points. The A Division boat sailed by Ivan Shestopalov (Miami, Fla.)Alex Abate (Kemah, Texas) and Sameena Shaffeeullah (Danbury, Conn.) took ninth with 68 of MIT's 216 points, while the B Division boat sailed by Trevor Long (Hockessin, Del.)Dana Haig (Beach Haven, N.J.)Kaila Pfrang (Suffolk, Va.)John Ped (Portland, Ore.)and Fiona McKellar (Palos Verdes, Calif.) took third with 40 points. The C Division boat sailed by James Peraire-Bueno (Bedford, Mass.) and Lynn Liu (Orange, Conn.) finished 13th with 98 points. The B Division boat had the strongest showing all weekend by placing inside the top-4 in seven of nine races which included a win in race three and runner-up placements in races five and eight.

- At the Morris Trophy, the Engineers finished ninth as a team with 137 points. The A Division boat sailed by Charles Lindsay (West Palm Beach, Fla.)Meredith Julian (Cohasset, N.Y.)Mai Nguyen (Hanoi, Vietnam) and Suparnamaaya Prasad (Yorktown, Va.) combined for 78 points for 10th place, while the B Division boat sailed by Jeremy McCulloch (San Diego, Calif.)Lulu Russell (Marion, Mass.)Liz Obermaier (Northville, Mich.) and Isabelle Yen (Palo Alto, Calif.) totaled 59 of MIT's 137 points for sixth place. Of the combined 18 races between the two divisions, MIT posted 15 top-10 placements.


- Next weekend, in the final weekend of competition prior to nationals, the Engineers will compete in the New England Dinghy Championship which will be hosted by Bowdoin College.


- For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.