MIT Takes First at Smith Trophy

MIT Takes First at Smith Trophy

Oct. 1, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Placing in the top five in 15 of 30 rounds, host MIT finished first out of 28 teams at the Smith Trophy this past weekend. It marked the first time this fall that the Engineers won a trophy regatta.

A-Division skipper Jake Muhleman and crew Desiree Amadeo finished first four times, while also taking a pair of second-place marks during the two-day event. The duo finished first overall after 15 races in the higher group.

"It was a huge win for senior Jake Muhleman," head coach Matt Cohen said. "He has been sailing great this year, with freshman crew Desiree Amadeo. They've been working hard in practice and are really coming together well as a team. Jake's got a great feel for the typically tricky Charles River conditions, and this is a great win for Jake against a talented field. Sophomore Josh Leighton sailed well also."

In B-Division, which also went 15 rounds, Leighton, the skipper, and crews Gina Fridley and Vicki Lee took four third-place slots, and finished second once. The trio placed third overall in the lower circuit.

Amid a sun-splashed day along the Charles River, Tech's quintet fought off tricky and shifty conditions with a northerly breeze of 8-12 knots on Saturday. Then, with a bit of haze seeping in on Sunday, the Cardinal and Gray battled a northeast wind that swung to the east at 7-10 knots.

Overall, MIT finished with a score of 189, beating out Brown University and neighboring foe Tufts University by nine and 13 points, respectively.

Tech also finished 11th out of 14 teams at the Women's Regis Bowl at Boston University. Yale University won the two-day event with a score of 96.

MIT will host the Sir Ian MacFarlane Trophy next weekend.