Dama and Barlow Headline Class of Baseball All-Conference Selections

Dama and Barlow Headline Class of Baseball All-Conference Selections

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT sophomore Aric Dama has been named Pitcher of the Year and head coach Andy Barlow earned coach of the year as the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) released their Baseball All-Conference teams on Wednesday afternoon. Dama and Barlow join four other Engineers who received All-Conference nods.

With the award, Dama earns an automatic spot on the first-team All-Conference, the lone Engineer to grab first team honors. Designated hitter A.J. Hansborough, catcher Dan Hyatt, pitcher Kiel Jindra and shortstop Bryan Macomber all received spots on the NEWMAC second team.

Dama, a sophomore from Winfield, Ill., had a 1.13 ERA and a 4-1 record in 12 appearances for the Engineers after starting the season with a 1 hit shutout at Trinity. He spent much of the season in the top five in the country in earned run average and at one point, had a twenty-one and a third inning scoreless streak. His conference statistics are even more impressive, with a 0.57 ERA and a 3-0 record, including shutouts of Wheaton, Coast Guard, Springfield and Clark.

Hyatt, a senior captain from Wallingford, Conn., earns his second all-conference nod. He was a member of the NEWMAC second team in 2009. Hyatt has anchored a very young pitching staff while contributing offensively, co-leading the team in hits and second in RBIs and batting average. He is fifth in putouts in the conference and has thrown out ten runners on 27 attempts, tied for fourth.

Despite battling injuries, Hansborough was a steady cleanup hitter for the Engineers. The junior from Deltona, Fla. had a .408 average that was fourth in the conference, while he was fifth in slugging percentage (.507) and ninth in OBP (.476). He led MIT in batting average, was second in hits and third in RBI and runs scored.

An excellent defender, Macomber has been a solid shortstop for the Engineers, whose ability to get to ground balls has saved many bases. Offensively, he became a dangerous hitter by mid-season, breaking the MIT record with a four-double game and leading the team with 19 RBIs. The junior from Los Altos, Calif. is slugging .506, sixth in the conference and has hit two of MIT's six homeruns this year.

Jindra's performances in conference games were all MIT could have hoped for out of the freshman from Oceanside, Calif. He spun an eight inning, 3 hit scoreless gem against Babson, two hits over six innings against Coast Guard and one unearned run over five innings against Clark. His conference ERA was fifth overall and his BAA was third in the NEWMAC, while pitching the most conference innings.

Barlow, a native of Burlington, Vermont, took over the team in 2004 and has won over 150 games, owning the best winning percentage of any coach in MIT baseball history. This is his second NEWMAC Coach of the Year honor, having won the honor in 2009. A 1985 graduate of the University of Vermont, Barlow's breadth of experience also includes time spent coaching in some of the top collegiate summer leagues in the country. Barlow is a longtime member of the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and is also an active member of the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA).


2011 NEWMAC Baseball Awards


Player of the Year                                                  

Dave Ahern, Babson


Pitcher of the Year

Aric Dama, MIT


Rookie of the Year                                      

Michael Bortolotti, Babson


Coach of the Year
Andrew Barlow, MIT

Sportsmanship Award

Wheaton College


First Team All-Conference
Dave Ahern, Babson

Aric Dama, MIT

Andrew Aizenstadt, Babson

Eddie Kalankiewicz, Coast Guard

Dan Haugh, Wheaton

Frank Holbrook, Wheaton

Eric Jensen, Wheaton

Hal Landers, Wheaton

Sean Minor, WPI


Second Team All-Conference

Michael Bortolotti, Babson

Travis Jonasson, Babson

Tyler Vieira, Coast Guard

A.J. Hansborough, MIT

Dan Hyatt, MIT

Kiel Jindra, MIT

Bryan Macomber, MIT

John Schmaltz, Springfield

Daniel Thomas, WPI